Studying and Homework tips for High school

Back To School just happened, I need help?

Hi guys! Its a post from Lilly today, on the subject of homework and studying for school, hopefully I can help you out a bit. I’m just starting high school and am already experiencing the dreaded need to Study and do Homework. Below will be some tips I find help me!

#1 Find a place you can focus and work well

IMG_2072.JPG

I personally like to put a bean bag seat or big blanket in a corner of my room, there I can be comfortable but not distracted, without risking falling asleep. Other places that work for me are at my desk or just laying on my stomach on the floor in my room. As difficult as it is I try to avoid places like the couch or my bed where I may be too comfy or unable to write neatly, places such as the kitchen table or breakfast bar are also unideal because of how busy and distracting it usually is in my house.

#2 Have all the supplies you may need by you (binder, notebook, pencils, laptop etc.)

IMG_2074.JPG

Without all your supplies with you, you may have to constantly be getting up, for the impossible search of finding what you need. I like to keep my laptop close by in case I need to search up anything rather than my phone, which often takes over my attention with insta and snapchat. Having all your textbooks and notes will also ensure you don’t forget any important assignments.

#3 Stay organized

IMG_2075.JPG

This partially links to my last tip, I can’t stress it enough how important it is to stay organized! This one I find really difficult but can save your butt when you have many projects and assignments. Its crazy how you can get all A’s and think you have everything handed in to see at the end of the semester/term that you got a C because you totally forgot an assignment or two. I have two binders that I keep in my locker, in each binder I have 3-4 subjects and a notebook for each subject, and NO LOOSE PAPERS.

#4 The 45/15 Rule

This doesn’t work for everyone, but its important to find a balanced ratio for homework/studying to a break. I use the rule of 45 minutes of completely focused work, then 15 minutes break to have a snack, check my phone, stretch, and whatever else I want to do. Then another 45 minutes of work. I find this helps me because I know if I get down to my work I will have a reward after, so my brain can get a little break.

#5 Yes Music, No TV

Many of my friends I know like to turn on the television for when their working on their homework but I find you’re not able to completely devote your focus to what you’re supposed to be doing. Music on the other hand can help with background noise, but it should be quiet enough that you’re not distracted by it either. There are some scientific studies linking music to brain productiveness, but you do you.

#6 Do your homework/study when you get it

NEVER PROCASTINATE! I know you’ve heard it before, but honestly it is the most important advice someone could give you. You can do all the tips above but if you procrastinate until after the assignment is due, none of it accounts. So take it from someone who has stayed up till 1am, because she left her project until last minute, and just do your work when you get it.

 

So that’s all I have to say for today. I hope you enjoyed it and it helped you out a bit, and hopefully my blog posts will soon improve. Have an awesome school year;)!!!

Lilly ( Co blogger)

Leave a comment